At semester’s end…

Posted on 21 December 2008

0


At semester’s end, I can again look forward to thinking about non-academic interests. Finally, I’ll have time to approach the Mandarin-learning CDs that were given to me six months ago. Finally, I’ll have time again to paint a bit. Finally, I’ll have time to read all of those not-quite-relevant-enough-to-course-work-yet-still-interesting journal articles that have been languishing in a folder on my laptop since August.

Today, I’ll finally have time to post on another of my underdeveloped interests, graphic design; see below a few of my favorite labels. (Sadly, I can say next to nothing regarding the quality of the bottles’ contents!)

← something about the juxtaposition of tabular typography and layout with the logo seems more elegant than any gold-embossed script font could ever hope to be.
← again, something about the near-pharmaceutic label typography and layout with the great and imperfect rectangle of color in the center screams elegance to me. clinically beautiful.
← another Lioco, this one from a 2005 chardonnay
← again with the Ridge labels.
← less tabular this time, from a 1970 Chateau Mouton Rothschild. see the links below for more.
← another, this time from a 1974
← and, finally, from a 1969

Recommendations of nice food, beer, spirits, and pharmaceutics labels are welcomed as well.

Click the image below to see the 1945-2005 Chateau Mouton Rothschild Labels (as posted to Flickr.com by user bvargas). They’re all quite nice, apart from the label for 2003 (which is ridiculously amateur, right down to the pseudo-shadow effect on the tasteless font).

Posted in: Art