David Byrne on Edward Tufte on PowerPoint

Posted on 17 April 2008

0


Yeah, I know what you’re thinking:

“what? …why?”

Me, too. I guess he is a performer. Anyway, here it is:

(Of course, it’s from UC Berkeley.)

More on topic:

By the way, I’ve just finished reading (again) both Envisioning Information and Visual Explanations. You should read them both as soon as possible, especially if you find yourself presenting data, arguments, or sentences containing nouns and verbs to an interested audience:

  • Envisioning Information is fantastic, intensely considered writing and imagery. It’s beautifully printed and it even has pop-ups. It’s so intellectual, but still remains graspable–I wish I could have seen this as a child; I know it would have been my favorite book ever, even at age 8.
  • Visual Explanations is even better; some of the graphs and ideas are shared across these books, but they’re essentially complementary, not overlapping. I’ve got Visual Display of Quantitative Information on hold, and I’m trying to get the University to buy Beautiful Evidence, but it’s looking like it’s not going to happen.
Posted in: Art, Design