Knowledge at Wharton

Posted on 5 April 2008

0


Three good articles recently arrived in my inbox (from the Knowledge@Wharton series produced by the Wharton School of Business):

Am I sensing a topical pattern?

“I don’t throw darts at a board. I bet on sure things.” (Gordon Gekko, Wall Street, 1987)

On topic: I had the opportunity (over long and frustrating drives during and after spring break) to read three books, all of which came recommended by a finance prof. I can also offer my recommendation, for whatever it might be worth:

  • Capital Ideas by Peter L. Bernstein, 1993.
  • Liar’s Poker by Michael Lewis, 1990.
  • Greed and Glory on Wall Street by Ken Auletta, 1987.
    • …including a nice photo of Lew Glucksman in his “capitalist tool” necktie.
Posted in: Business