Light and shadow, part 1: the Tokyo sewer system

Posted on 18 November 2007

0


A hall within the tokyo sewer systemExcerpt from Piranesi-Carceri

I was struck by the similarities between this photo of a hall within the Tokyo sewer system (found on MADEBYBLOG>ARCHI.) and the drawings of Piranesi. I guess I shouldn’t be that amazed, considering they’re both just big empty rooms full of columns and shadow, but I can’t help it.

UPDATE: It’s known as the 首都圏外郭放水路, shutoken-gaikaku-housuiro or the “G-Cans Project.”

See the Wikipedia article here:

I guess they also look like they could be sets from a Ridley Scott movie; anyway, take this post for what it’s worth.

Apple 1984 Ad, directed by Ridley Scott

Update: According to WordPress’s BlogStats function, this is one of the most popular posts on my blog, and I can absolutely not fathom why. In interest of driving page-views by improving the quality of my content, here are some relevant links. Now, all of those people clicking to view this post will actually find some real info:

From Edward Tufte’s site:

More from Japan:

  • http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Metropolitan_Area_Outer_Underground_Discharge_Channel
  • Advertisements